Beach Soccer Qualifiers to be held in Costa Rica

The Trinidad & Tobago Beach Soccer team will be heading to Costa Rica for the 2021 CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championship which is the World Cup Qualifier for this region. They are yet to find out who are their group stage opponents as the official draw for the groups will take place March 8th from the CONCACAF Headquarters, in Miami, Florida.

The competition will take place from May 17-23, 2021, in Alajuela, Costa Rica as it was announced by the regional governing body recently. The only venue for the event is the Complejo Deportivo FEDEFUTBOL Plycem, in Alajuela, Costa Rica. There will be two qualifiers from this tournament who will then progress to the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup which is scheduled to be held from August 19–29, 2021, in Moscow, Russia.

The Beach Soca Warriors have competed in three previous CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championships. They finished 7th in Nassau, Bahamas (2013), 5th in Costa del Sol, El Salvador (2015) and sixth in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico (2019).  One of the latest World Rankings published, had T&T holding the 49th spot.

General Secretary of the CONCACAF, Philippe Moggio said in an interview, “This year is the Costa Rican Football Federation’s 100-year anniversary and we offer them our sincere congratulations on reaching such a hugely important milestone. We know they will do a fantastic job hosting the CONCACAF Beach Soccer competition this year in what is sure to be a celebration of football.”

The 12 teams that are participating in the tournament are Bahamas, Belize, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Turks and Caicos Islands, USA and Trinidad and Tobago.

For the group stage, the 12 teams will be divided into three (3) groups of four (4) teams each. After the round-robin matches between May 17-19, the first and second place finishers in each group and the two best third-place finishers will advance to the knockout stage.

The knockout stage will begin with the quarterfinal matches on May 21st, followed by the semifinals on May 22nd and the final one day later.