Molino, Jones miss out; Boucaud returns for Soca Warriors

Injured Trinidad & Tobago and Columbus Crew star-footballer, Kevin Molino was excluded from the 26-man squad selected by head coach Terry Fenwick for the upcoming Qatar 2022 World Cup Qualifiers against Guyana (March 25th) and Puerto Rico (28th). Also, missing out with injury were defenders Alvin Jones and Josiah Trimmingham.

Saudi Arabian-based Khaleem Hyland is likely to return as captain whilst Sheldon Bateau who plays in Belgium should be named as deputy.

There were recalls for several senior players including defenders Robert Primus, Radanfah Abu Bakr and English-born midfielder Andre Boucaud. The experienced talisman in central defense, Abu Bakr hasn’t worn the national colours in four years and raring to suit up again. Primus was a standout youth player but has had a start-stop career due to injury but is hoping for better fortunes on his return at age 30. The 36-year-old, silky-smooth midfielder, Boucaud was a pivotal player in the engine room of the midfield under coach Stephen Hart and will make his return in almost four years.

The Trinidad & Tobago Football Association (TTFA) confirmed crucial information that their European-based players will be cleared to participate for both qualifiers in March. 

TTFA released a statement saying, “Through the timely collaboration between the TTFA, the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee and the President of the TTOC, Mr. Brian Lewis, the TTFA, is now able to have our European based players cleared to travel to Puerto Rico to play Puerto Rico on the 28th March 2021.”  It was also mentioned, “This National Interest Exemption wavier now grants our affected players the opportunity to travel to Puerto Rico without being affected by the strict suspension of entry to non-citizens. This restriction is applicable to non-citizens who were physically present in a restricted country during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States.”

T&T Squad


Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Marvin Phillip (free agent), Nicklas Frenderup (Blink I.L), Denzil Smith (W. Connection)


Noah Powder (Real Salt Lake FC), Leland Archer (Charlston Battery), Justin Garcia (Defence Force), Neveal Hackshaw (Indy Eleven FC), Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen), Aubery David (Deportivo Saprissa), Radanfah Abu Bakr (free agent), Robert Primus (FC Bengaluru United), Joevin Jones (Inter Miami CF)


Duane Muckette (free agent), Michel Poon-Angeron (Banfield), Andre Boucaud (Maidstone), Daniel Phillips (Watford FC), Judah Garcia (Neroca Football Club), Khaleem Hyland (Al-Batin FC), Marcus Joseph Jr (free agent)


Levi Garcia (AEK Athens FC), Ryan Telfer (Atletico Ottawa), Willis Plaza (free agent), Sean Bonval (Central FC), Jabari Mitchel (forward/Police FC), Brent Sam (Defence Force)


Terence Fenwick (head coach), Derek King (assistant coach), Kelvin Jack (assistant/goalkeeper coach), Sion Cain (masseuse), Joseph Rooplal (physiotherapist), Akash Dhanai (doctor), Michael Williams (equipment manager), Shaun Fuentes (media officer), Clyde Thompson (logistics coordinator), Adrian Romain (team manager)