Pritchard elected President of ECFU

Ian Pritchard was elected as the president of the Eastern Counties Football Union (ECFU) when their election was held online last Monday. It was initially carded to be held in-person in May but was rescheduled due to the Covid-19 restrictions.

The ECFU is an association under the Trinidad & Tobago Football Association (TTFA) just as the Eastern Football Association (EFA), Southern Football Association (SFA) and North Zone Association (NZA) Tobago Football Association and Central Football Association (CFA).

Pritchard will be overseeing the largest geographical area of all the Associations and his communities are Rio Claro, Mayaro, Sangre Grande and Environs, Valencia, Toco and environs.

The executive of the ECFU who will be serving for four years comprises of President – Ian Pritchard, 1st Vice President – Clem Reyes, General Secretary – Marvin Durham, 2nd Vice President – Matthew Williams, Assistant Secretary One – Owen Khan, Assistant Secretary Two – Kern Pierre, Committee Member One – Andrew Boodoo, Committee Member Two – Glen Rampersad.

After receiving the presidency position, Pritchard thanked the outgoing ECFU Executive for their tremendous service to the development of football in the ECFU.

He said, “Top on the agenda is youth development and the organization of an effective and professional club structure for all clubs of the ECFU. The ECFU will be structured in such a manner that allows for the contribution of the membership and all stakeholders. Committees will be formed that will be responsible of the implementation specific aspects of football in the ECFU.”

Pritchard has adequate experience working in the sporting field as he is also the president of the Tertiary Sports Association of Trinidad & Tobago (TSATT) and an employee of the University of Trinidad & Tobago.

He admitted that he and his executive will have to meet to discuss their plans going forward but they will be operating through a collaborative effort for all their membership.