Women Warriors draw 1-1 against Panama

The Trinidad and Tobago women’s football team had an improved offensive performance to draw 1-1 against visitors Panama in the second international friendly match played on Monday at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

Newly installed interim head coach, Kenwyne Jones started the same 3-5-2 formation but replaced midfielders Naomie Guerra and Maylee Attin-Johnson (injury) with Chelcy Ralph and Aaliyah Prince.

Norway-based striker Kennya ‘Yaya’ Cordner wasted little time to open the scoring for the home team. The speedy forward scored in the seventh minute after latching on to a through ball and she smartly rounded off the keeper Farissa Cordoba for an easy finish.

Player of the match in the previous match on Thursday, goalkeeper Kimika Forbes was called into action in the 34th minute. Mexican-based defender, Victoria Swift fouled Carina Baltrip in the box and the penalty was immediately awarded by local referee Cecile Hinds.

However, Forbes good run of form continued between the uprights as her outstretched left-handed save denied Marta Cox the levelling goal. Cox rebounded shot sailed overbar.

Three minutes until the end of regulation time, the Central Americans pounced on the lack of defensive focus from T&T to score the equalizer. Defender Katherine Castillo rose above her marker to meet an enticing Cox corner to head passed the once invincible Forbes.

The Women Warriors squandered a glorious opportunity to seal the victory in virtually the last kick of the match. Substitute Dennecia Prince played an enticing pass to Laurell Theodore at the touch-off spot, and she sped away from her trailing defenders before shooting wide of an already beaten goalie Cordoba.

The Women Warriors are preparing for their CONCACAF Women Qualifiers in February which was originally carded for November. The extra time is beneficial for the team as Jones’ contract expires at the end of November.


1 Kimika Forbes (GK), 8 Victoria Swift, 20 Lauryn Hutchinson (5 Meyah Romeo 46), 4 Rhea Belgrave 12 Chelcy Ralph, 14 Karyn Forbes (captain) 7 Liana Hinds, 10 Anya de Courcy, 3 Aaliyah Prince (15 Laurelle Theodore 58th); 11 Raenah Campbell (13 Dennecia Prince 75th), 19 Kennya Cordner (18 Naomie Guerra 80th).

Coach: Kenwyne Jones

Assistant Coach: Charlie Mitchell